Oscar Wrap-Up – Better late than never, I suppose.

I know, I know. The Oscars were a week ago, but if you haven’t figured it out by now, I’m sort of a procrastinator. It’s how I roll. Enough chit-chat, though. On to the Oscar wrap-up!

Overall, I thought the Oscars went the way they should have gone. There were no real curveballs that I didn’t see coming (with the exception of Foreign Language, but then again, is that really a curveball when I didn’t see any of the films?), and I was VERY pleased with the awards that “Avatar” won. It won exactly what it deserved to win. I was extremely nervous that it would take some of the major awards, but in the end the Academy seemed to nail it on the head this year. Kudos to you, Academy.

 Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin did a fairly good job. I thought they came across a little stiff/akward in a few parts, but overall they were pretty funny together. And that leads me to an odd moment early on in the ceremony. They had a bit with George Clooney where they had a bit of a staredown. I’m assuming Clooney was in on the bit because of the general look of disgust on his face. At least, I’m hoping he was in on it. Hands down the best part of the ceremony was the tribute to John Hughes. Molly Ringwold and Matthew Broderick were extremely sincere and led perfectly into the tribute with the rest of the brat pack and various other Hughes prodigies. The memorial tribute was handled much better this year, as well, with a great performance from James Taylor. But what the heck was up with leaving out Farah Fawcett?!

The Academy’s producers have said that they limit it to 30 names for time constraints and they just didn’t have room for her in the tribute. Are you serious? That’s the reason you left out one of the most recognizable members of the Academy and one that fought a long hard battle with cancer, and you leave her out because you limit it to 30 names?! Make an exception and bump it to 31 this time around. How hard would it have been to add a 5 second clip of Fawcett to the tribute? It’s inexcusable. How is it that the one thing they mess up huge on every year is the memorial tribute? Last year they did the weird moving camera around the screen so you couldn’t see anything happening and this year they leave out a major star from the tribute?

If that was their only major misstep, though, then they did a pretty good job. I was happy to see “The Hurt Locker” take home the top awards, and I was thrilled that Kathryn Bigelow took home  the Best Director award. I’ve heard some people lately bashing “The Hurt Locker” and I don’t understand it. It was a great movie with a wonderful script, great directing, and strong performances from every one involved. It took the high road and avoided any political leanings and presented us with a story of a soldier’s struggles dealing with life in war vs. life at home and the effects that a war have on that dynamic. It should be required for any film student to see.

Two categories that I was a little upset about were the screenplay categories. Don’t get me wrong. I liked “The Hurt Locker” and “Precious” but overall “Inglourious Basterds” and “Up in the Air” were the better screenplays. QT just wasn’t able to avoid “The Hurt Locker” onslaught and Jason Reitman just straight up got robbed, but they’ll both be back in the future with some amazing material. I’m a big Jason reitman fan and I’m excited to see where he goes. He’s so young and already has 3 solid movies under his belt. He’s got potential to be the next big director in Hollywood.

I know this was sort of a lack-luster post on the Oscars, but there really weren’t any big upsets or surprises to talk about. It went about the way that I thought it would. I got 14 out of 24 picks right, and if I would have gone with my gut it could have been 18. And I have seen all but 3 of the winners (the only three left: Foreign, Doc. Short, Live Action short) so it was a good year for ole’ Oscar and me. Now to keep up on this year’s potentials and see how next year turns out.

(And be sure to read the next post – the Golden Reel results!)

~ by reeltoreel on March 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
